Kentucky Derby victor Country House will not run in Preakness

Kentucky Derby victor Country House will not run in Preakness

Kentucky Derby victor Country House will not run in Preakness

The chestnut colt, who was tapped as the Kentucky Derby victor following a disqualification of Maximum Security, won't be running in the May 18 Preakness State, according to his trainer, William Mott.

Trainer Bill Mott said Tuesday the long-shot victor of horse racing's biggest event was no longer being considered to run in the second leg of the Triple Crown after it looked as if Country House was getting sick.

Mott told Jay Privman the horse "developed a little bit of a cough". Hopefully it doesn't develop into anything serious.

Mott says he believes Country House has a virus and that the horse will likely miss a couple of weeks of training.

According to The Guardian's Bryan Armen Graham, Country House is only the fourth Derby victor in 60 years to miss the Preakness after Grindstone in 1996, Spend A Buck in 1985 and Gato Del Sol in 1982.

The Preakness, the second leg of the Triple Crown, is May 18 in Baltimore, and it remains to be seen if the Kentucky Derby victor will race. "But he's showing indications that something is going on".

Barry Stilz, an attorney for Maximum Security's owner, Gary West, told CNN on Tuesday they intend to seek out additional legal options after an appeal was denied on Monday by the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission.

Grindstone, who was found to have bone chips in one of his knees, was the first Derby victor to be retired immediately after that race since Bubbling Over in 1926. Maximum Security was disqualified and placed seventeenth, elevating Long Range Toddy to sixteenth in the official order of finish.

West said he was disappointed by the KHRC decision, but added the matter is not settled.

American Pharoah and Justify won Triple Crowns in 2015 and 2018, respectively.

Country House was 65-1 to win the Derby, the second-longest odds in the 145-year history of the race.

Since then, 11 of the 22 Preakness races have been won by the Kentucky Derby victor.

The third jewel of the Triple Crown is the Belmont Stakes in NY on June 8.

Related news