Modric makes history to break Messi-Ronaldo Ballon d’Or duopoly

Modric makes history to break Messi-Ronaldo Ballon d’Or duopoly

Modric makes history to break Messi-Ronaldo Ballon d’Or duopoly

AS has obtained the list which displays the winners hours before the actual announcement is set to take place.

Cristiano Ronaldo and his chief foil Lionel Messi have had a stranglehold over football's most prestigious individual honor for a decade now but Monday's announcement will nearly certainly see Luka Modric's name on the trophy.

Handed out by the prestigious France Football magazine, Modric is the first player from Croatia to win the Ballon d'Or, which was first awarded in 1956.

Despite helping Barcelona canter to a domestic double last term, Lionel Messi could only muster a fifth place finish, his lowest ever finish since 2006 some 12 years ago, as Argentina crash out of the World Cup in the Round of 16.

Before Modric, former Brazilian star Kaka was the last person other than Messi or Ronaldo to win the honour, in 2007.

The award is aptly named after former French and Real Madrid great Raymond Kopa, and the victor of the award is also selected by former Ballon d'Or winners.

Ronaldo who is now at Juventus was key to Real Madrid when they retained the Champions League title for the third year in row. Even when one of the two didn't claim the award during that period, the other finished second in the voting nine times out of 10 - the lone exception came in 2010 when Andres Iniesta was the runner-up.

The year of 2018 has been the year of Luka Modric and there is no better evidence than with the Ballon d'Or victory.

It was his performances in the tournament in Russian Federation which began to swing the balance, as he won a variety of individual awards including UEFA's Best Player in Europe and FIFA's The Best in October, as well as the Golden Ball for the best player last summer in Russian Federation.

France Football, which hands out the Ballon d'Or, and FIFA combined their awards to create the FIFA Ballon d'Or in 2010.

The 23-year-old won the Ballon d'Or Feminin in fine style and was joined on stage by a number of her team-mates including England star Lucy Bronze, as she made an inspirational and powerful speech asking for "every young woman to believe in themselves".

Related news