Andy Farrell to replace Joe Schmidt as Ireland coach after World Cup

Andy Farrell to replace Joe Schmidt as Ireland coach after World Cup

Andy Farrell to replace Joe Schmidt as Ireland coach after World Cup

However, Schmidt was slightly taken aback by the then 25-year-old Sexton's response when having expressed doubts to him, and two other senior players, Leo Cullen and Brian O'Driscoll, about whether he could run such a club with relatively little experience.

All Black wing Rieko Ioane won in 2017‚ England lock Maro Itoje (2016) and All Black wing Nehe Milner-Skudder (2015).

Sexton beat All Blacks fly-half Beauden Barrett - the victor for the last two years - South Africa scrum-half Faf de Klerk, New Zealand try machine Rieko Ioane and Springboks hooker Malcolm Marx.

Up next for Sexton may be an away trip to Rodney Parade and a game with Dragons in the Guinness PRO14.

Speculation around the future of Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt has continued in the wake of their victory over the USA.

"We have some of the best coaches in the world and are led superbly".

Coach Joe Schmidt, widely acclaimed as the architect of Ireland's rise over the last five years to No. 2 on the world rankings, was named Coach of the Year and Ireland was named Team of the Year in recognition of its Six Nations Grand Slam and its historic home win this month over top-ranked New Zealand.

"I wouldn't have been able to have the season I have had without her".

Joe Schmidt will not be renewing his contract after the 2019 World Cup.

SA Rugby president Mark Alexander praised Springbok winger Aphiwe Dyantyi for scooping the World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year Award in association with Tudor at a glittering function in Monaco on Sunday evening.

"I've given them an indication and I just need to talk to people tomorrow and early next week, it will be made public".

He is the first Irish player to claim the coveted award since Keith Wood in 2001.

"You don't have to worry about that, we'll do that", Sexton said.

Michaela Blyde won the women's Sevens player of the year crown, with Perry Baker taking the honours for the men.

Former Wallabies captain Stephen Moore and former All Blacks 7s captain DJ Forbes received the International Rugby Players Special Merit Award.

The former Scotland worldwide was diagnosed with motor neurone disease in 2017 and has since set up a foundation to fund research into his condition.

Related news